About the Department
Divisions
Mission Statement
Special Programs
Contact & Information

Department of Surgery Divisions

Department Chair


Steven D. Schwaitzberg, MD, FACS
Professor and Chairman,
Department of Surgery
Buffalo General Medical Center
P: 716-859-3779
F: 716-859-7349
Email: schwaitz@buffalo.edu
Contact: Sharon Hartwig
Email: shartwig@kaleidahealth.org


Vice-Chairs

Vice-Chair for Faculty Development

Maciej Dryjski, MD, PhD, FACS
Professor of Surgery
Buffalo General Medical Center/Gates Vascular Institute
P: 716-859-4225
F: 716-859-4222
Email: mdryjski@kaleidahealth.org

Vice-Chair for Research

W. Alan Guo, MD,
Clinical Associate Professor of Surgery
Erie County Medical Center
P: 716-898-5283
F: 716-898-5029
Email: wguo@ecmc.edu

Vice-Chair for Education

Gregory S. Cherr, MD, RVT, FACS
Associate Professor
Research Associate Professor of Social and Preventive Medicine
Buffalo General Medical Center/Gates Vascular Institute
P: 716-859-2810
F: 716-859-4222
Email: gcherr@buffalo.edu

Vice-Chair for Finance

Philip Glick, MD, MBA, FACS
Professor of Surgery
Professor of Management

Buffalo General Medical Center
Erie County Medical Center
P: 716-859-3371
F: 716-859-1354
Email: glicklab@buffalo.edu

Vice-Chair for Clinical Affairs

William J. Flynn, Jr., MD, FACS
Associate Professor of Surgery
Erie County Medical Center
P: 716-898-5283
F: 716-898-5029
Email: wflynn@ecmc.edu


EDUCATIONAL AREAS

Student Programs

Jeffrey Brewer, MD
Director of Surgical Clerkships
Assistant Professor of Surgery

Erie County Medical Center
P: 716-898-5283
F: 716-898-5029
Email: jbrewer@ecmc.edu

Gayle Thomson
Coordinator, Department of Surgery Student Programs
Buffalo General Medical Center
P: 716-859-2349
F: 716-859-1829
Email: gthomson@buffalo.edu

General Surgery Residency Program

Gregory S. Cherr, MD, FACS
Program Director, General Surgery Residency Program
Associate Professor of Surgery

Research Associate Professor of Social and Preventive Medicine
Buffalo General Medical Center/Gates Vascular Institute
P: 716-859-2810
F: 716-859-4222
Email: gcherr@buffalo.edu
Contact: Stephanie Thompson
Email: SThompson3@KaleidaHealth.org

Vascular Surgery Residency Program (Integrated)

Linda Harris, MD, FACS
Program Director, Vascular Surgery Residency Program
Professor of Surgery

Buffalo General Medical Center/Gates Vascular Institute
P: 716-859-4225
F: 716-859-4222
Email: lharris@kaleidahealth.org
Contact: Joanne Cozzo
Email: jcozzo@kaleidahealth.org

Pediatric Surgery Fellowship

Carroll M. Harmon, MD, PhD
Chief, Division of Pediatric Surgery
Program Director, Pediatric Surgery Fellowship Program

John E. Fisher Chair in Pediatric Surgery
Women and Children's Hospital of Buffalo
P: 716-878-7802
F: 716-888-3850
Email: charmon@kaleidahealth.org
Contact: Sarah Hoffman
Email: shoffman@kaleidahealth.org

Colon and Rectal Surgery Fellowship

Bryan Butler, MD
Program Director, Colon and Rectal Surgery Fellowship
Assistant Professor of Surgery

Buffalo General Medical Center
P: 716-859-3714
F: 716-859-3764
Contact: Jan Harszlak, PhD
Email: comjanet@buffalo.edu

Vascular Surgery Fellowship

Linda Harris, MD, FACS
Program Director, Vascular Surgery Residency Program
Professor of Surgery

Buffalo General Medical Center/Gates Vascular Institute
P: 716-859-3714
F: 716-859-3764
Email: lharris@kaleidahealth.org
Contact: Joanne Cozzo

Email: jcozzo@kalediahealth.org

DIVISIONS

Colo-Rectal Surgery

Mahmoud N. Kulaylat, MD
Chief, Division of Colo-Rectal Surgery - SUNY Buffalo
Associate Professor of Surgery

Buffalo General Medical Center
Western New York Veteran's Administration Hospital
P: 716-859-2050
F: 716-859-4580
Email: mkulaylat@kaleidahealth.org

Pediatric Surgery

Carroll M. Harmon, MD, PhD
Chief, Division of Pediatric Surgery
Program Director, Pediatric Surgery Fellowship Program

John E. Fisher Chair in Pediatric Surgery
Women and Children's Hospital of Buffalo
P: 716-878-7802
F: 716-888-3850
Email: charmon@kaleidahealth.org

Trauma/Critical Care

William J. Flynn, Jr., MD, FACS
Chief, Division of Critical Care - SUNY Buffalo
Associate Professor
Erie County Medical Center
P: 716-898-5283
F: 716-898-5029
Email: wflynn@ecmc.edu

Vascular Surgery

Linda M. Harris, MD, FACS
Chief, Vascular Surgery - SUNY Buffalo
Professor of Surgery

Buffalo General Medical Center/Gates Vascular Institute
P: 716-859-4225
F: 716-859-4222
E: lharris@kaleidahealth.org

GI/Laparoscopy

Alan Posner, MD, FACS
Chief, GI/Laparoscopy Surgery - SUNY Buffalo
Clinical Assistant Professor of Surgery

Buffalo General Medical Center
P: 716-859-3196
F: 716-859-2737
E: aposner@kaleidahealth.org

Transplant

Liise Kayler, MD
Chief, Transplant Surgery - SUNY Buffalo
Clinical Associate Professor of Surgery

Erie County Medical Center
P: 716-898-3337
F: 716-898-7027
E: lkayler@ecmc.edu


LINKSCONTACTDIRECTORYFAQSUPPORTMAINTAIN
.: