The Charles S. Peirce Society

The purpose of the Charles S. Peirce Society shall be to encourage study of, and communication about, the works of Charles S. Peirce and its ongoing influence in the many fields of intellectual endeavor to which he contributed.

President: Gérard Deledalle

Vice-President: Nathan Houser

Secretary-Treasurer: Mark Migotti

"Symposium on the Religious Writings of Charles S. Peirce"
March 15-18, 2003
Hyatt Regency Hotel
Denver, Colorado

Announcement &
Call for Papers

Registration Form

Fellows of the Charles S. Peirce Society (living past Presidents): Robert Almeder, Richard J. Bernstein, Arthur Burks, Cornelius F. Delaney, Umberto Eco, Carolyn Eisele, Susan Haack, Peter H. Hare, Charles Hartshorne, Carl R. Hausman, Jaako Hintikka, Christopher J. Hookway, Joseph M. Ransdell, Kenneth L. Ketner, Christian J. W. Kloesel, John Lachs, Isaac Levi, Edward H. Madden, Murray G. Murphey, Klaus Oehler, Hilary Putnam, Andrew J. Reck, Nicholas Rescher, B. Gresham Riley, Don D. Roberts, Richard S. Robin, Sandra B. Rosenthal, Israel Scheffler, Michael Shapiro, Thomas L. Short, John E. Smith, Rulon Wells.

History: The first President of the Charles S. Peirce Society, elected in 1946, was Paul Weiss. Other early presidents include James K. Feibleman, Isabel Stearns, Philip Wiener, Thomas Goudge, and Max Fisch.

Annual Meeting: The Society meets annually in late December in conjunction with the meeting of the American Philosophical Association, Eastern Division. The location of the meeting changes from year to year.

Publication: Transactions of the Charles S. Peirce Society: A Quarterly Journal in American Philosophy. Edited by Peter H. Hare and Randall Dipert. Since its founding in 1965, this has been the premier journal specializing in the history of American philosophy. Although named after the founder of American pragmatism, all types of American thought are covered, from the colonial period until the recent past. Books published in the field are discussed in essay reviews.

Membership: Membership is automatic with a subscription to the Transactions. Sustaining memberships are available at $100 annually. Such members are listed on the masthead of each issue.

Peirce Society Essay Contest: The Society sponsors an annual essay contest for graduate students and those who have earned their Ph.D. degree within five years. The author of the winning essay receives $500, an invitation to present a short version of the essay at the Society's annual meeting, and possible publication in the Transactions of the Charles S. Peirce Society. Submission must be sent before September 15 to Peter H. Hare at the address shown below.

Transactions of the Charles S. Peirce Society
c/o Peter H. Hare
Department of Philosophy
135 Park Hall
State University of New York at Buffalo
Buffalo, New York, 14260-4150


This web site was originally designed by John Shook as part of the Pragmatism Cybrary. It is currently maintained by Robert Lane.